The Equality Diversity System2 (EDS2) is designed to support NHS commissioners and providers to deliver better outcomes for patients and communities and better working environments for staff, which are personal, fair and diverse. The EDS2 is all about making positive differences to healthy living and working lives.

CPFT has adopted the EDS2 and is fully committed to its implementation. The EDS should help organisations to start the analysis that is required by section 149 of the Equality Act 2010 (“the public sector Equality Duty”) in a way that promotes localism and also helps them deliver on the NHS Outcomes Framework, the NHS Constitution and the Human Resources Transition Framework. It will help providers to continue to meet CQC’s “Essential Standards of Quality and Safety”.

What is the EDS2?

CPFT is committed and continues to work towards its equality agenda by implementing the national Equality Delivery System2 (EDS2) framework. The EDS was refreshed in November 2013 and has been developed to be more streamlined and simpler to use. EDS2 will support the Trust to respond to the Public Sector Equality Duty (PSED). It will assist to meet the general duty to eliminate discrimination, harassment and victimisation; advance equality of opportunity; and foster good relations. Its use can also help the Trust to meet the specific duties of the PSED.
The EDS2 is a tool for NHS organisations – in partnership with patients, the public, staff and staff-side organisations - to use to review their equality performance and to identify future priorities and actions. It offers local and national reporting and accountability mechanisms.
At the heart of the EDS2 is a set of 18 outcomes grouped into four goals. These outcomes focus on the issues of most concern to patients, carers, communities, NHS staff and Boards. It is against these outcomes that performance is analysed, graded and action determined. The four EDS goals are:

  • Better health outcomes for all
  • Improved patient access and experience
  • A representative and supported workforce
  • Inclusive leadership

The grades are:
1. Excelling – Purple
2. Achieving - Green
3. Developing – Amber
4. Undeveloped – Red

The EDS covers all those people with characteristics protected by the Equality Act 2010. there are nine characteristics:

  • Age
  • Disability
  • Gender re-assignment
  • Marriage and civil partnership
  • Pregnancy and maternity
  • Race including nationality and ethnicity
  • Religion or belief
  • Sex
  • Sexual orientation

Often the term “protected groups” is used to refer to people with these characteristics.


Further information

The page was last updated on 13 March 2018 by pcouch.


Cambridgeshire and Peterborough NHS Foundation Trust
Elizabeth House, Fulbourn Hospital
Cambridge, CB21 5EF

T 01223 219400 (open 8:30am to 5pm)
F 01480 398501

IIP-logo-reversed Mindful-employer NHS-Employers-web Triangle-of-Care-member Twitter Logo Youtube Logo Facebook Logo Instagram Logo Wordpress Logo