Top award for CPFT clinician
15 November 2013

A senior clinician at Cambridgeshire and Peterborough NHS Foundation Trust has won a top award.

Dr Mai Luen Wong, an associate specialist in the liaison psychiatry service, has been named Specialty Doctor/Associate Specialist of the Year 2013 by the Royal College of Psychiatrists.

The annual RCPsych Awards mark the highest level of achievement within psychiatry, and are designed to recognise and reward excellent practice in the field of mental health.

This is the first year that an RCPsych Award category has recognised the achievements of specialty doctors and associate specialists. These doctors are essential components of service provision, providing a major share of the medical input in many teams. The Award is designed to recognise a psychiatrist who has demonstrated advanced clinical skills, as well as excelling in service development, teaching, research and leadership.

Dr Wong was presented with her trophy by Dr Laurence Mynors-Wallis (both pictured above), Registrar of the Royal College of Psychiatrists, at a prestigious ceremony held at the Royal Society of Medicine on 14 November.

Competition for the RCPsych Awards is always extremely tough, and the judging panels were impressed by the quality of this year’s entries. The judges said: “Dr Wong is one of those doctors we would wish to have treating us or our families. She is an inspiring leader, who led the liaison psychiatry service through the Royal College of Psychiatrists’ accreditation scheme. She is an innovative clinician, who won her Trust’s competition for developing methods to make NHS evidence more widely used.”

Professor Sue Bailey, President of the Royal College of Psychiatrists, said: “Dr Wong combines a busy clinical role with a commitment o teaching, multiple leadership positions, and an extraordinary ability to apply evidence to develop and improve services. Her prize-winning research, clinical skills and leadership make a real difference, and she is an ambassador for psychiatry. On behalf of the entire College, I warmly congratulate her on winning this award.”
There are 15 categories in the RCPsych Awards 2013:
• Medical Student of the Year
• Foundation Doctor of the Year
• Core Psychiatric Trainee of the Year
• Advanced Psychiatric Trainee of the Year
• Specialty Doctor/Associate Specialist of the Year
• Psychiatric Trainer of the Year
• Academic Researcher of the Year
• Public Educator of the Year
• Service User Contributor of the Year
• Carer Contributor of the Year
• Psychiatric Team of the Year: children and adolescents
• Psychiatric Team of the Year: working-age adults
• Psychiatric Team of the Year: older-age adults
• Psychiatric Team of the Year: non-age specific
• Lifetime Achievement Award

Nominations for the RCPsych Awards 2014 will open in January.

Cambridgeshire and Peterborough NHS Foundation Trust
Elizabeth House, Fulbourn Hospital
Cambridge, CB21 5EF

T 01223 219400 (open 8:30am to 5pm)
F 01480 398501

IIP-logo-reversed Mindful-employer NHS-Employers-web Triangle-of-Care-member Twitter Logo Youtube Logo Facebook Logo Instagram Logo Wordpress Logo