The Peterborough Paediatric Speech and Language Therapy Service (SALT) assesses, diagnoses and provides treatment for a range of speech, language, communication and feeding difficulties in children and young people.

How this service can help you

We can help and support children from birth to the end of secondary education who:

  • are experiencing speech sound disorders
  • have difficulties using or understanding language
  • need alternative or augmentative forms of communication - eg, signing or sympols
  • have a stammer
  • have non-behavioural feeding and swallowing difficulties

These difficulties may be associated with other complex health needs or disabilities or may be occurring in the absence of any other difficulties.

Following an initial assessment we will recommend activities and decide the need for further interventions. These may take the form of:

  • ongoing, regular, face-to-face therapy
  • consultative support via school-based programmes
  • parent training

 

 

Facilities available

The service is available Monday to Friday between 9am-5pm. We usually carry out initial assessments in clinics across Peterborough. Further interventions may be offered in clinics, pre-school and school settings (including special schools) and sometimes in families' own homes.

We can refund transport costs for families who receive Family Income Support or Working Families Tax Credit.

Interpreters are available if needed.

How do I access this service?

We have an open referral system and accept and encourage referrals from all health and education agencies.  We accept referrals for children meeting our eligibility criteria who live in the Peterborough City Council area and in Whittlesey and Yaxley.

Drop-in to see us

If your child is not yet at school you can come to one of our drop-in sessions to talk about your child's speech, language and communication or any other concerns you may have, with a speech and language therapist or assistant. Drop-ins are held at clinics or health centres. 

The below drop-in clinic dates are subject to change – please check online nearer the time to ensure the session is running.

 January

Wednesday 8 January - 1.00pm-3.00pm - Honeyhill Children's Centre - 150 Chadburn, Peterborough PE4 7DH
Thursday 9 January - 9.30am-11.30pm - Caverstede - Caverstede Road, Walton, Peterborough, PE4 6EX 
Friday 10 January - 9.30-11.30 - Gladstone Children Centre - 290 Gladstone Street, Peterborough PE1 2BX 
Tuesday 14 January -  1.00pm-3.00pm - Orton Childrens Centre / Jigsaw - Orton Children’s Centre, The Jigsaw Centre, Herlington, Orton Malborne, Peterborough PE2 5PW 
Monday 20 January - 9.30am-11.30am - Acorn / First Steps - Acorn: First Steps Children's Centre / The Acorn Centre 20 Scalford Drive, Welland, Peterborough PE1 4TR 
Tuesday 21 January - 13.00-14.30 - Queen's Hall - Daimler Ave, Yaxley, Peterborough PE7 3LX 
Wednesday 22 January - 1.00pm-3.00pm - Middleton / South Bretton - South Bretton Family & Community Centre, 32 Tyesdale, Peterborough PE3 9XZ (the old Tysedale building) 
Monday 27 January - 9.30am-11.30pm - Fulbridge Academy - Fulbridge Childrens Centre, Fulbridge Academy, Keeton Road, Peterborough PE1 3JQ 
Tuesday 28 January – 9.30am-11.30am - Alderman Jacobs – Drybread Road, Whittlesey, Peterborough, PE7 1XJ

 February

 Wednesday 5  February - 1.00pm-3.00pm - Honeyhill Children's Centre - 150 Chadburn, Peterborough PE4 7DH
Thursday 6  February - 9.30-11.30 - Caverstede - Caverstede Road, Walton, Peterborough PE4 6EX
Friday 7  February - 9.30-11.30 - Gladstone Children Centre - 290 Gladstone Street, Peterborough PE1 2BX
Tuesday 11 February - 9.30-11.30 - Orton Childrens Centre / Jigsaw  - Orton Children’s Centre, The Jigsaw Centre, Herlington, Orton Malborne, Peterborough PE2 5PW
Monday 17 February - 9.30-11.30 - Acorn / First Steps - Acorn: First Steps Children's Centre / The Acorn Centre 20 Scalford Drive, Welland, Peterborough PE1 4TR
Wednesday 19 February - 9.30-11.30 - Middleton / South Bretton - South Bretton Family & Community Centre, 32 Tyesdale, Peterborough PE3 9XZ (the old Tysedale building)
Monday 24 February - 9.30-11.30 - Fulbridge Academy - Fulbridge Childrens Centre, Fulbridge Academy, Keeton Road, Peterborough PE1 3JQ
Friday 28 February - 9.30-11.30 - Hampton Childrens Centre/ Family Action - Family Action Children & Family Centre, Hargate Way, Hampton Hargate Peterborough PE7 8BZ

 March

Thursday 5 March - 9.30-11.30 - Caverstede - Caverstede Road Walton, Peterborough PE4 6EX
Friday 6 March - 9.30-11.30 - Gladstone Children Centre - 290 Gladstone Street, Peterborough PE1 2BX
Tuesday 10 March - 1.00pm - 3.00pm - Orton Childrens Centre / Jigsaw  - Orton Children’s Centre, The Jigsaw Centre, Herlington, Orton Malborne, Peterborough PE2 5PW
Thursday 12 March - 9.30-11.30 - Alderman Jacobs - Drybread Road, Whittlesey, Peterborough, PE7 1XJ
Monday 16 March - 9.30-11.30 - Acorn / First Steps - Acorn: First Steps Children's Centre / The Acorn Centre 20 Scalford Drive, Welland, Peterborough PE1 4TR
Tuesday 17th March - 13.00-14.30 - Queen's Hall - Daimler Ave, Yaxley, Peterborough PE7 3LX
Wednesday 18 March - 1.00pm - 3.00pm - Honeyhill Children's Centre - 150 Chadburn, Peterborough PE4 7DH
Thursday 19 March - 1.00pm - 3.00pm - Middleton / South Bretton - South Bretton Family & Community Centre, 32 Tyesdale, Peterborough PE3 9XZ (the old Tysedale building)
Monday 23 March - 9.30-11.30 - Fulbridge Academy - Fulbridge Childrens Centre, Fulbridge Academy, Keeton Road, Peterborough PE1 3JQ
Monday 30 March -  1.00pm - 3.00pm - Hampton Childrens Centre / Family Action - Family Action Children & Family centre, Hargate Way, Hampton Hargate, Peterborough PE7 8BZ 

April

 Monday 6 April - 9.30-11.30 - Acorn / First Steps - Acorn: First Steps Children's Centre / The Acorn Centre 20 Scalford Drive, Welland, Peterborough PE1 4TR
Tuesday 7 April - 1.00pm - 3.00pm - Orton Childrens Centre / Jigsaw - Orton Children’s Centre, The Jigsaw Centre, Herlington, Orton Malborne, Peterborough PE2 5PW
Wednesday 8 April - 9.30-11.30 - Middleton / South Bretton - South Bretton Family & Community Centre, 32 Tyesdale, Peterborough PE3 9XZ (the old Tysedale building)
Wednesday 15 April - 1.00pm - 3.00pm - Honeyhill Children's Centre - 150 Chadburn, Peterborough PE4 7DH
Monday 20 April - 9.30-11.30 - Fulbridge Academy - Fulbridge Childrens Centre, Fulbridge Academy, Keeton Road, Peterborough PE1 3JQ
Thursday 23 April - 9.30-11.30 - Caverstede - Caverstede Road, Walton, Peterborough PE4 6EX
Friday 24 April - 9.30-11.30 - Gladstone Children Centre - 290 Gladstone Street, Peterborough PE1 2BX 

May

Friday 1 May - 9.30-11.30 - Gladstone Children Centre - 290 Gladstone Street, Peterborough PE1 2BX
Thursday 7 May - 9.30-11.30 - Hampton Childrens Centre / Family Action – Family Action Children & Family Centre, Hargate Way, Hampton Hargate Peterborough PE7 8BZ
Monday 11 May - 9.30-11.30 - Acorn / First Steps – Acorn: First Steps Children's Centre / The Acorn Centre 20 Scalford Drive, Welland, Peterborough PE1 4TR
Thursday 14 May - 9.30-11.30 – Caverstede - Caverstede Road, Walton, Peterborough PE4 6EX
Monday 18 May - 9.30-11.30 - Fulbridge Academy - Fulbridge Childrens Centre, Fulbridge Academy, Keeton Road, Peterborough PE1 3JQ
Tuesday 19 May - 13.00-14.30 - Queen's Hall - Daimler Ave, Yaxley, Peterborough PE7 3LX
Tuesday 26 May - 1.00pm - 3.00pm - Orton Childrens Centre / Jigsaw  - Orton Children’s Centre, The Jigsaw Centre, Herlington, Orton Malborne, Peterborough PE2 5PW

June

Wednesday 3 June - 9.30-11.30 - Middleton / South Bretton - South Bretton Family & Community Centre, 32 Tyesdale, Peterborough PE3 9XZ (the old Tysedale building)
Thursday 4 June - 9.30-11.30 - Alderman Jacobs - Drybread Road, Whittlesey, Peterborough, PE7 1XJ
Friday 5 June - 9.30-11.30 - Gladstone Children Centre - 290 Gladstone Street, Peterborough PE1 2BX
Wednesday 10 June - 1.00pm - 3.00pm - Honeyhill Children's Centre - 150 Chadburn, Peterborough PE4 7DH
Thursday 11 June - 9.30-11.30 – Caverstede - Caverstede Road, Walton, Peterborough PE4 6EX
Monday 15 June - 9.30-11.30 - Acorn / First Steps - Acorn: First Steps Children's Centre, The Acorn Centre 20 Scalford Drive, Welland, Peterborough PE1 4TR
Tuesday 16 June - 1.00pm - 3.00pm - Orton Childrens Centre / Jigsaw - Orton Children’s Centre, The Jigsaw Centre, Herlington, Orton Malborne, Peterborough PE2 5PW
Monday 22 June - 9.30-11.30 - Fulbridge Academy - Fulbridge Childrens Centre, Fulbridge Academy, Keeton Road, Peterborough PE1 3JQ 

July

 Wednesday 1 July - 1.00pm - 3.00pm - Middleton / South Bretton - South Bretton Family & Community Centre, 32 Tyesdale, Peterborough PE3 9XZ (the old Tysedale building)
Wednesday 8 July - 1.00pm - 3.00pm - Honeyhill Children's Centre - 150 Chadburn, Peterborough PE4 7DH
Thursday 9 July - 9.30-11.30 - Caverstede - Caverstede Road, Walton, Peterborough PE4 6EX
Friday 10 July - 9.30-11.30 - Gladstone Children Centre - 290 Gladstone Street, Peterborough PE1 2BX
Monday 13 July - 9.30-11.30 - Acorn / First Steps – Acorn: First Steps Children's Centre / The Acorn Centre 20 Scalford Drive, Welland, Peterborough PE1 4TR
Monday 20 July - 9.30-11.30 - Fulbridge Childrens Centre, Fulbridge Academy, Keeton Road, Peterborough PE1 3JQ
Tuesday 21 July - 13.00-14.30 - Queen's Hall - Daimler Ave, Yaxley, Peterborough PE7 3LX
Tuesday 28 July - 1.00pm - 3.00pm - Orton Childrens Centre / Jigsaw  - Orton Children’s Centre, The Jigsaw Centre, Herlington, Orton Malborne Peterborough PE2 5PW
Friday 31 July -  9.30-11.30 - Hampton Childrens Centre / Family Action - Family Action Children & Family centre, Hargate Way, Hampton Hargate Peterborough PE7 8BZ 

August

 Wednesday 5 August - Sesson 1.00pm - 3.00pm - Honeyhill Children's Centre - 150 Chadburn, Peterborough PE4 7DH
Monday 10 August - 9.30-11.30 - Acorn - First Steps - Acorn: First Steps Children's Centre / The Acorn Centre 20 Scalford Drive, Welland, Peterborough PE1 4TR
Tuesday 25 August - 9.30-11.30 - Orton Childrens Centre / Jigsaw - Orton Children’s Centre, The Jigsaw Centre, Herlington, Orton Malborne, Peterborough PE2 5PW 

September

 Wednesday 2 September - 1.00pm - 3.00pm - Honeyhill Children's Centre - 150 Chadburn, Peterborough PE4 7DH
Tuesday 8 September -  1.00pm - 3.00pm - Orton Childrens Centre / Jigsaw - Orton Children’s Centre, The Jigsaw Centre, Herlington, Orton Malborne, Peterborough PE2 5PW
Friday 4 September - 9.30-11.30 - Gladstone Children Centre - 290 Gladstone Street, Peterborough PE1 2BX
Friday 11 September - 9.30-11.30 - Hampton Childrens Centre/ Family Action - Family Action Children & Family Centre, Hargate Way, Hampton Hargate Peterborough PE7 8BZ
Monday 14 September - 9.30-11.30 - Acorn / First Steps - Acorn: First Steps Children's Centre / The Acorn Centre 20 Scalford Drive, Welland, Peterborough PE1 4TR
Monday 21 September - 9.30-11.30 - Fulbridge Academy - Fulbridge Childrens Centre, Fulbridge Academy, Keeton Road, Peterborough PE1 3JQ
Thursday 24 September - 9.30-11.30 - Alderman Jacobs - Drybread Road, Whittlesey, Peterborough, PE7 1XJ
Monday 28 September - 9.30-11.30 - Middleton / South Bretton - South Bretton Family & Community Centre, 32 Tyesdale, Peterborough PE3 9XZ (the old Tysedale building) 

October

 Friday 2 October - 9.30-11.30 - Gladstone Children Centre - 290 Gladstone Street, Peterborough PE1 2BX
Monday 12 Oct - 9.30-11.30 - Acorn / First Steps - Acorn: First Steps Children's Centre / The Acorn Centre 20 Scalford Drive, Welland, Peterborough PE1 4TR
Wednesday 14 October 1.00pm - 3.00pm - Honeyhill Children's Centre - 150 Chadburn, Peterborough PE4 7DH
Monday 19 October - 9.30-11.30 - Fulbridge Academy  -  Fulbridge Childrens Centre, Fulbridge Academy, Keeton Road, Peterborough PE1 3JQ
Tuesday 20 October 13.00-14.30 - Queen's Hall - Daimler Ave, Yaxley, Peterborough PE7 3LX 
Tuesday 27 October -  9.30-11.30 - Orton Childrens Centre / Jigsaw - Orton Children’s Centre, The Jigsaw Centre, Herlington, Orton Malborne, Peterborough PE2 5PW
Wednesday 28 October - 1.00pm - 3.00pm - Middleton / South Bretton - South Bretton Family & Community Centre,  32 Tyesdale, Peterborough PE3 9XZ (the old Tysedale building)

November

Thursday 5 November- 9.30-11.30 - Alderman Jacobs -Drybread Road, Whittlesey, Peterborough, PE7 1XJ
Friday 6 November - 9.30-11.30 - Gladstone Children Centre - 290 Gladstone Street, Peterborough PE1 2BX
Monday 9 November- 9.30-11.30 - Acorn / First Steps - Acorn: First Steps Children's Centre / The Acorn Centre 20 Scalford Drive, Welland, Peterborough PE1 4TR
Wednesday 11 November- 1.00pm - 3.00pm - Honeyhill Children's Centre -150 Chadburn, Peterborough PE4 7DH
Thursday 12 November- 9.30-11.30 - Middleton / South Bretton -South Bretton Family & Community Centre, 32 Tyesdale, Peterborough PE3 9XZ (the old Tysedale building)
Monday 16 November - 9.30-11.30 - Fulbridge Academy - Fulbridge Childrens Centre, Fulbridge Academy, Keeton Road, Peterborough PE1 3JQ
Tuesday 24 November- 1.00pm - 3.00pm - Orton Childrens Centre / Jigsaw -Orton Children’s Centre, The Jigsaw Centre, Herlington, Orton Malborne, Peterborough PE2 5PW
Friday 27 November - 9.30-11.30 - Hampton Childrens Centre/ Family Action - Family Action Children & Family Centre, Hargate Way, Hampton Hargate, Peterborough PE7 8BZ

 December

Wednesday 2 December - 1.00pm-3.00pm - Middleton / South Bretton - South Bretton Family & Community Centre, 2 Tyesdale, South Bretton Peterborough PE3 9XZ (the old Tysedale building)
Monday 7 December - 9.30-11.30 -  Acorn / First Steps
- Acorn: First Steps Children's Centre / The Acorn Centre 20 Scalford Drive, Welland, Peterborough PE1 4TR
Monday 14 December - 9.30-11.30 - Fulbridge Academy - Fulbridge Childrens Centre, Fulbridge Academy, Keeton Road, Peterborough PE1 3JQ
Friday 4 December - 9.30-11.30 - Gladstone Children Centre - 290 Gladstone Street, Peterborough PE1 2BX
Tuesday 15 December - 9.30-11.30 - Orton Childrens Centre / Jigsaw  - Orton Children’s Centre, The Jigsaw Centre, Herlington, Orton Malborne, Peterborough PE2 5PW
Tuesday 15 December - 13.00-14.30 - Queen's Hall - Daimler Ave, Yaxley, Peterborough PE7 3LX

 You can find details of the Cambridgeshire drop-in sessions here

Below is a map with information about locations and dates of our drop-ins:

 

Where is it?

Clinics are held in various venues across the City, but the team is based:

Peterborough City Care Centre,
Thorpe Road, Peterborough,
PE3 6DB

Contact the service

  • 01733 847 166

Who provides the service?

The Peterborough Paediatric Speech and Language Therapy Service is provided by Cambridgeshire and Peterborough NHS Foundation Trust. This is a specialist community service supporting complex health needs and disabilities, specific communication difficulties and the early intervention and prevention agenda.

Our team consists of therapists, specialist and generalist assistants and administrative staff.

Who is this service for?

The Peterborough Paediatric SALT service is for children and young people from birth to the end of their secondary school education who live in Peterborough, Whittlesey or Yaxley who are experiencing speech, language, communication or feeding difficulties and whose needs cannot be met within other mainstream services.

 

 Click here 

 

 

Recommended
websites

Further information


The page was last updated on 07 January 2020 by salteditors.

Cambridgeshire and Peterborough NHS Foundation Trust
Elizabeth House, Fulbourn Hospital
Cambridge, CB21 5EF

T 01223 219400 (open 8:30am to 5pm)
F 01480 398501

IIP-logo-reversed Mindful-employer NHS-Employers-web Triangle-of-Care-member Twitter Logo Youtube Logo Facebook Logo Instagram Logo Wordpress Logo

IP: 18.232.51.247